Login Create Account
Opinions?
TaylynAnastasia
Hey! I'm Taylyn, and I'm new to FMA. I joined marching band as a colorguard member my sophomore year and I learned clarinet the next semester. I must say, I love band.

The standtunes are what I'm looking forward to the most, and so I wrote one. I arranged Somebody That I Used to Know by Gotye, for a standtune. It was a really enjoyable and, actually, a learning experience. I'm SO proud of it, and I'd like to share it.

https://soundcloud.com/taylynblack/somebody-that-i-used-to-know

Please, feel free to criticize me and let me know what you all think. (:
Head Director of:
- The Rocketeers Drum and Bugle Corps
- Mountain Sound of Asheville Marching Band
- Land of the Sky Colorguard
Gamertooth17
Nice job with the wind arranging.

Lots of time I see people on Youtube "arranging" and only giving each instrument one part. Like trumpets the melody all the time, mellos,tbones, and saxes harmony, and tuba the bass gtr part.. You spread it out nicely with the melodies and harmonies. I like it.

TaylynAnastasia
Thank you so much! I tried to give each section a feature of some sort (:
Head Director of:
Gamertooth17
Very nice. I also liked how simple the bass drum break was.

Not everything has to be splitting hertas and sextuplets. Sometimes less is more.

Could use some cymbal stuff. Maybe ride cymbal or hihat.
TaylynAnastasia
Ah, okay. Our school doesn't use marching cymbals or I'd add it :| It was personalized as a standtune for my school, and I'm pretty sure we're like one of the few schools that don't have cymbals in the stands :| If I do a marching arrangement, I'll add the pitched percussion and cymbal c:

Thanks though! I never liked all the complicated bass drum things. I feel like only the tenors should be completely complicated XD
Head Director of:
kmarti6