Login Create Account
Am I Good Enough? **PLEASE READ IF YOU CAN**
SaxophoneMan
Hey guys, sorry if this is long, but if you don't mind reading it could really help me out. So, I was trying to figure some things out for myself. I graduated from my HS on June 6th, so that means no more HS marching band for me. I plan on auditioning for SoA on mellophone next marching season, but I feel a little weary on doing that. But, I also feel like I underestimate myself a lot. Anyway, I am an original saxophone player, which I began playing in the sixth grade. My freshman year of high school I marched sax, my sophomore year I marched sax, my junior year I marched trumpet, and my senior year I was drum major. I worry a lot about if I am good enough to march mellophone considering I have never marched it before, and I hear a lot about how getting your feet out of you sound/tone can be kind of tricky. I think I can play mellophone exceptionally well, but I just worry a little when I may have to bring the marching in to place. (Btw, I would like to think of myself as a very exceptional marcher. I love marching and I put A LOT of emphasis on it). So, I just wanted to see what some of you may think, and there may be some of you who have been through the same thing as me considering the big community of drum corps members that this site has. So, does anyone have any comments or suggestions?
Member of CLASS; Member of ENCORE; Member of PERC
Stradivarius