Login Create Account
HS Marching Band Experiences
nightfury129
So I saw that the forums seem dead, so I wanted to start a discussion. Anyone willing to share some of their experiences in high school marching band? Anyone get to see any awesome bands? Anyone part of any really awesome bands?

Personally, I performed at a competition hosted by Tarpon Springs High School (they got 4th place in Grand National Finals this year) and got to see their amazing exhibition show in person. My band also went to an MPA and got overall superior. (I'm a freshman so I don't have many experiences to share)

(anyone in a Florida band? I might have been able to see your show this year if you were)

Post your experiences down below!
echstrumpet8
I march(ed) with the East Coweta High School Marching Band and had the honor of seeing Tarpon Springs perform at the Atlanta Super Regional for the last three years. They perform on a whole new level!

East Coweta has kinda been on the verge of breaking out for the last few seasons but we aren't quite there yet. Last season we placed 2nd at the Jacksonville Regional and this season we placed 3rd (should have placed 2nd in my opinion...). Placing second at a BOA was probably my favorite band memory. It was my program's highest BOA finish ever.

I'd say a close second was stepping out of the tunnel onto the field at the Georgia Dome for the first time my sophomore year (I didn't march my freshman year :( ). The Dome is just so big! It was a lot to take in. It's a shame they're already tearing it down, though I'll admit the acoustics in there are pretty garbage. Never got to perform at a Dome finals...maybe I'll get to perform at Mercedes-Benz for DCI? One day...

Thanks for starting up this topic, maybe it will help get the forums a little more active!

Also, nightfury, I sent you invites to FLAG and PERC, if you are interested!

Bailey Knight
Pride of Peachtree (CLASS)
Peachtree Cadet Marching Band (ENCORE)
Spin and Rinse (FLAG)(Operator)